Mar 04, 2024  
2022-2023 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2022-2023 Undergraduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Air Force ROTC Program

While aerospace studies classes are open to all Southern Miss students, those wishing to pursue an Air Force commission should meet the following requirements:


Men and women who are full-time university students may enroll in the General Military Course (GMC). The GMC surveys the missions, activities and history of the United States Air Force. There is no obligation associated with enrollment in any GMC course. The professor of aerospace studies may grant credit or partial credit for completion of the GMC for students who have served on active duty, for junior- or senior-level ROTC participation in a program of any service, and for Civil Air Patrol work.

Professional Officer Course (POC)/Aerospace Studies Minor:

The minor in Aerospace Studies is only available for Air Force Reserve Officer Training Corps (AFROTC) cadets. The minor requires 16 hours, including the following:


Enrollment in the Professional Officer Course (POC) under an Air Force contract (obligated reserve) is limited to those students who have applied and have been accepted for this course. Application is normally made while a member of the GMC or (for students not enrolled in the GMC) early during the academic year prior to the year of desired entry. Students with previous military service may apply for direct entry. Individuals entering the POC must have two academic years remaining in college as full-time students at the undergraduate or graduate level. After completing their studies, all contracted POC students are obligated to accept a commission and to enter the active duty Air Force.


Enrollment in the General Military Course offers the student good exposure to the Air Force without obligation and also affords maximum opportunity for scholarships and entry into the Professional Officer Course. The POC is normally preceded by a four week summer field training course conducted at an Air Force base in the United States.