Feb 23, 2024  
2015-2016 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2015-2016 Undergraduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Aerospace Studies

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Letters


Lt Col Todd M. Berrier, Chair
118 College Drive, Box 5145
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0001
fax: 601.266.4481

Austin, Berrier, Lambert

The Air Force ROTC Program offers a course of study leading to a commission as a second lieutenant and service on active duty. The program is an accredited part of the curriculum of the university. Air Force ROTC may apply toward satisfying the requirements for an academic minor.

Air Force ROTC College Scholarship Program

An aerospace studies committee nominates qualified freshman, sophomore and junior students to compete for three- and two-year scholarships. Scholarships can pay full tuition, as well as certain fees and expenses associated with required courses, including most textbooks. In addition, the recipient will receive between $300 and $500 (tax-free) monthly allowance (depending upon classification) during the school year. Scholarships are awarded based on the specific needs of the Air Force. All academic majors are potential scholarship recipients. Interested students should contact the Department of Aerospace Studies.

Four-year scholarships are also available to high school students. High school students interested in making application can apply online at www.AFROTC.com before December 1, of their senior year.

Department Activities

Air Force ROTC students are eligible for membership in the Drill Team and Arnold Air Society and allowed to participate in departmental activities. Arnold Air Society is a national organization with membership restricted to Air Force ROTC cadets. Both organizations are sponsored by the Air Force Association and hosted by the department. Other departmental activities include visits to Air Force bases, physical fitness conditioning and intramural sports, as well as optional summer professional development training programs.



    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Letters