Feb 21, 2024  
2016-2017 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2016-2017 Undergraduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

College of Nursing

Katherine Nugent
Dean, College of Nursing
118 College Drive, Box 5095
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0001

Lachel Story
Assistant Dean for Research and Evaluation
Ph. D. Program Director
Assistant Professor, College of Nursing
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0001

Anita Boykins
Associate Dean and Associate Professor, College of Nursing
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0001

Patsy Anderson
Associate Dean and Associate Professor, College of Nursing
Long Beach, MS

Anderson, Boykins, Brown, Butts, Chatham, Coyne, Davis, Elliott, Everson, Gaut, Gilmore, Gore, Graham, Green, Harbaugh, Harris, Hart, Hayden, Holman, Hossley, Hughes, Johnson, Lin, Masters, McDonald, McNeil, Morris, Newton, Nugent, Pendergrass, Powell, Rayborn, Rich, Rikabi, Rushing, Story, Stuart, Tinnon, Welch


The mission of Southern Miss College of Nursing is to enhance the health and well-being of the people of the state of Mississippi by preparing graduates at the baccalaureate, masters, and doctoral level of education who are prepared to advance the profession of nursing through education, scholarship, and service.


The vision of the Southern Miss College of Nursing is to excel in baccalaureate, masters, and doctoral education, innovative clinical practice, and the creative use of technology to advance nursing practice, education, and scholarship

Organization and Administration

Dean’s Office

The dean is the chief administrative officer of the College of Nursing and is responsible for its operation and relations with all stakeholders. Associate deans and assistants to the dean coordinate curriculum, research, external relations and a variety of administrative matters.

Academic Units

The College of Nursing provides educational programs at two sites – Hattiesburg and Gulf Park – to prepare professional practitioners in the discipline of nursing for diverse populations; to promote service activities to the community, the nursing profession and the university; and to foster research and scholarly activities to expand nursing knowledge and practice. The curricula prepare the beginning generalist in professional nursing and the advanced practitioner for leadership in health care systems.

The three academic units comprising the College of Nursing include the Department of Collaborative Nursing Care which houses the baccalaureate entry level program and the RN-BSN program; the Department of Advanced Practice which houses the Family Nurse Practitioner Program, the Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program, and the Nurse Anesthesia Program; and the Department of Systems Leadership and Health Outcomes which houses the BSN-DNP Leadership Program, the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program, and the Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing Program.

The College offers undergraduate and graduate academic programs consistent with its mission statement. Each academic program is responsible for academic advisement of its majors. Since curricular requirements vary for each major, students desiring degrees from the College of Nursing should follow the course plan outlined in each track. Detailed information on individual curricula of the baccalaureate programs follow.

Programs within the College must meet criteria of accrediting agencies and thus may have additional application procedures or admission requirements beyond those of the university. The programs within the College require students to have professional liability insurance purchased through fees assessed each semester by the university. Please consult with directors of the individual programs to obtain specific information.

Clinical and field experiences require a criminal background check. A felony conviction may disqualify a candidate from participating in clinical experiences. A felony conviction may also disqualify a candidate from licensure. For additional information, contact the academic department that houses the program. Any fees incurred are the responsibility of the candidate.

The College of Nursing programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and approved by the Board of Trustees of Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning.

Degree Plans and Semester-by-Semester Guides