Nov 29, 2020  
2014-2015 Graduate Bulletin 
2014-2015 Graduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Theatre

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Letters

John Warrick, Ph.D., Chair
118 College Drive #5052
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0001
(601) 266-4994

Boyd, Carr, Dettman, Hayes, Horton, Judd, Lauer, Rackoff, Warrick

The University of Southern Mississippi Department of Theatre is an accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Theatre. Theatre requirements are in accordance with the published regulations of this association. The Department of Theatre offers programs leading to the Master of Fine Arts degree in Theatre.

To be eligible for admission, a student must have a bachelor's degree and have completed a minimum of twenty-one (21) semester hours of undergraduate coursework in theatre or theatre-related areas. Those who do not meet the minimum entrance requirements may be admitted but will be expected to take undergraduate courses to cover deficiencies. It should be emphasized that admission to the Graduate School does not imply acceptance of the student as a candidate for a graduate degree. (See general admission requirements and procedures  as set forth in this Bulletin.)

Upon being admitted into a graduate program, the student will be assisted by the department graduate coordinator in selecting an appropriate graduate advisory committee composed of three faculty members, one of whom will serve as major professor.

Before the end of the first week of classes, an entrance interview and audition/portfolio review is required of all students entering a master's program.


    Master of Fine Arts

    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Letters